Prima Donna Healer

Is there such a thing?  Or are, as I asserted in an earlier article, good healers invisible?  I’m not sure, rightly or wrongly, that they are invisible in a wipe.  In WoW, most raids I attended, as a tank anyway, found the healing classes to blame for any wipe or misstep that occured.  While this was not a ubiquitous occurence, it tended to surface fairly often in the following manner.

/warriors:  Tank1 “WTF, were the healers asleep during that fight”

/warriors:  Tank2 “Yea, I tanked that whole fight without a heal.”

/raidleader “It wasn’t the healers, they were stunned, and when you keep breaking the crowd control, moving out of line of site, (insert reason here) you are going to die.

I tended to keep my thoughts to myself in these situations, even when I did think a healer was asleep.  Unless the oversight was so egregious as to put blame on an individual, i.e. the puller, mezzer, etc. there seemed little reason for me to point fingers.  For one, the raidleader in my old WoW guild was a healer, and he was in all the class channels.  He tended to fit the “prima donna” label of my title, but also did a good job of pointing out that raids did not always wipe because “the healers were asleep.”

As I begin my transition to a healing/warding class in Everquest II, I am curious to see what attitudes prevail in my guild.  The guild leader is again a healing class.  The raids to date have been so smooth I haven’t heard a cross word uttered on teamspeak.  What adjustments have been made relate to positioning and overall strategy.  I also believe the overall age and maturity level of my guildmates is significantly higher than my WoW guildies. Could it be that my WoW experience was due to the players lack of patience and the relative maturity level of the guild(s) as a whole?

Whatever the past, I am on my way to healing for a living.  I imagine it will be exciting!

4 Responses to Prima Donna Healer

  1. Kilanna says:

    Since my first day playing D&D almost 15 years ago, thru to my main toon in Star Wars Galaxies (Doctor) to my Templar in EQII I have ALWAYS enjoyed healing classes.

    I remember my first group in EQII at around level 35 after being invited to join a guildmate and being PETRIFIED. I was so scared that other peoples toons would die on my watch lol. It does feel like a huge responsibility sometimes. But it all went well and I gained 2 lvls that day:)

    I definitely think that trust between a group is vitally important. Your tanks have to trust that the healer is watching their back, the healer has to trust that the tank is not going to be a cowboy. It is hard too when dps toons take aggro and get squished but I still see my job as keeping up the tank to make sure that we at least have a chance that the whole group isn’t wiped.

    Each toon in the group really has a responsibility – Tanks not to blow their mana and then loose aggro, dps to controll their aggro, and healers to watch their mana and their tanks health. Tanks need a healer and healers need a tank and both of them need the contribution of dps toons. Each toon has very important contributions and will shine at different point during your adventures. This is also why I am quite selective with whom I group.

    At the end of the day if it goes badly then it goes badly – what is the point in casting blame. Buff up, try new strategy and get on with it for goodness sake. It is a game and should be fun. Just my $0.02 worth:)

  2. p@tsh@t says:

    One thing I’ve noticed in my healing career is that I am much more aware of what everyone in the group/raid is doing than when I’m playing a melee or ranged class.

    Healing feels more like air traffic control than piloting. Like Kilanna said, trust is vital and that trust is hard to develop in PUGs or with guildies that have too much of a me first attitude. It is stressful because you often find yourself in a situation where, in order to survive, the healer has to try to correct for a tactical error, overcome random events and even make up for bad player decisions. I’ve tanked groups too and its a close second in stress to my mind (most often because it is more difficult to reestablish aggro once the furball breaks apart than if you have more ranged alternatives).

    Its an interesting role because few other classes have the ability, however limited it may be, to cure any of these ills that may visit a group’s mob encounter.

    I look forward to reading all about it!

  3. Gaff says:

    Thanks for the input. I have noticed, just as your two comments point out, people who heal tend to have what I call a “healing philosophy.” It is more than just the order in which they heal the group, but also dictates how they approach the game. Tank mentality tended to deal with pulling, minus adds, keeping non-tanks from getting crunched, and figuring out why a raid wiped.

  4. kilanna says:

    Yesterday I had the most satisfying experience relating to this topic.

    I had grouped with a couple of guildies and we were in Loping Planes. After a particularly nasty combat (bah adds) the following 3 /tells were seen almost simultaneously:

    1. Good job – that was nasty
    2. Nice fighting guys
    3. Nice work keeping us all alive there.

    The kind of team you wish you had each time you play:)

Leave a Reply

