Parenting by Skype

I would just like to say, at the outset, that I am a professional educator, I love both of my children, and that I spend as much time as possible with them, sans computer, as possible.  That being said, I just hooked up Skype with my old machine, which rests upstairs in my dining room, and the gaming rig I run all my movies and MMOs on as a rule.  I can talk to my son while he is playing Webkinz!  Skype was only a name to me until this afternoon–my assumption is it was a glorified Teamspeak or Ventrillo.  How wrong was I…

The clarity is superb, it is easy to use, and it seems to filter some of the background speaker noise. My son can use it hands-free, resting the oversized full headset on his shoulders while speaking into the wind-baffled mic.  At the risk of seeming ignorant (which I am), I now understand how the podcast folks make such clear broadcasts, even with several people speaking at once.  Our next step is to run three EQ2 accounts while directing the little guy through his headset! Should be an adventure.

One Response to Parenting by Skype

  1. p@tsh@t says:

    Skype FTW! As long as you can hang with only 5 in a group. We’ve been using it since WoW released and it has been consistently amazingly easy, reliable and stable. As great with far flung friends as with those in the other room. Grats. Go you!

Leave a Reply

